Exciting Updates!

Well hello there lovely people! I have two rather exciting updates to inform you of! This won’t be the longest of posts but I thought they definitely merited a post of their own!

The first one is that on Wednesday I started organ lessons!

‘Why organ?’ you ask. ‘Why not?’ I reply.

The organ is an instrument that I hadn’t really encountered much, except for the odd Christmas Carol Service at school, until I got to university. As part of the Founder’s Choir at Royal Holloway I began to regularly sing in Sunday services, occasional Evensongs, and weekly morning services, most of which were accompanied by the organ. There were several organists within the university so I began to hear a lot more of it throughout my time there.

However, it wasn’t until a couple of months ago, at a Christmas concert I was singing in with my choir, that I spoke to a Paul Edwards, a composer, organist and choral singer native to Bedfordshire, who put the idea of learning organ in my head. As he put it, I was already part way there being a pianist. So I went away, having joked about learning organ, thinking that I wouldn’t give it a second thought.

I was wrong. I gave it a second thought… and a third… and a fourth… until I was decided. I was going to be an organist.

So here we are. I am now taking organ lessons with Paul Edwards. Having only had one lesson, I am already full of enthusiasm for it and I can’t wait to progress!

Now, onto the second update.

I have a mentor!

I am absolutely delighted to inform you all that myself and one of the other young leaders, Kirsty, will be being mentored by Sarah Mayhew Craddock! Having spoken to several potential mentors for OYAP I was struck with Sarah’s infectious personality. I don’t think I’ve ever been greeted so enthusiastically over the phone before!! Sarah is an artist with an absolute wealth of experience of curating, marketing and developing cultural events. As someone with an interest in curating large scale events and eventually going into theatre production I felt that I could learn a lot from Sarah. I will be meeting with her later in the week and I absolutely cannot wait!

Working with a mentor is such an exciting prospect. Having never had a mentor of this type before I think it will be really interesting to see how we work together and the steps we take from here. I’m really looking forward to getting to know Sarah, learning more about her , her work and her art, and I feel like she will be a great person to bounce ideas off of and gain great advice from! It felt like we clicked really well when we spoke before so I can’t wait to meet up!

Well that’s all for now folks. Blog post on the second day of No Boundaries will be up very shortly so stay tuned!

Hope you’ve all had a lovely weekend and have a good week!

Leave a Reply

